Linden Is God wrote:IMO it's a clean hit within the rules. BUT there were some dirty aspects to it.
1. Regehr came from a distance, almost a charge to make the hit.
2. A Flames player was skating along Downie down the ice and 'stepped back' when he saw Regehr thus bliding Downie.
All in the comfines of the rule book, but still kinda cheap.
And how did a thread about Phaneuf turn into a thread about Downie and Regehr?
Downie himself thought it was a charge:
On the replay it looked like a charge to me. He came at pretty high speed towards Downie.